Church Street leads from the centre of the City of Hereford (High Town) to it’s Cathedral where the Mappa Mundi and Chain Library are located.
The first floor gallery at the historic and listed Old Mayor’s Parlour building has undergone sympathetic internal and external refurbishment with the involvement of English Heritage. It's a glorious timber-framed building.
Old Mayor’s Parlour is a unique building dating back to the early fourteenth century. It once belonged to and was used by the Custos Rotulorum, the keeper of the rolls, (county’s records) and the Vicars Choral (the men of the Cathedral Choir). Created in 1605 the highly decorated ceiling shows the first version of the Herefordshire coat of arms, as well as, cherubim, oak leaves, acorns, and a fresco of what is believed to be Hereford Castle. Castle Green is located nearby where the remains are thought to be hidden under the grass.
Church Street Charitable Trust (Charity number 1063148) was set up in 1997, by the late Mrs Christine Bulmer MBE, as a non-profit making charity with its primary aim to preserve the unique character of the shops and craft outlets within Church Street, Hereford.